The Blount Memorial Hospital board of directors recently held its annual election of officers and unanimously approved new terms for the board’s president and vice president, as well as the secretary/treasurer.

Robert Redwine again was chosen to serve as president of the board of directors, a position he has held since 1993. Redwine was appointed to the board by the Blount County Commission and has served since January 1987. Retired from ALCOA Inc. Tennessee Operations, he currently provides consulting services for the maintenance training department at Arconic.

David Pesterfield again was selected as vice president. He serves as a representative of the city of Maryville, and was appointed to the board in 2008. He also is president of Pharmacy Plus Programs LLC.

Chief Executive Officer Don Heinemann was elected as the board’s secretary and treasurer. Heinemann has been a member of the Blount Memorial Hospital executive staff since 1985, and hospital CEO since July 2010.

The board is composed of nine members who serve three-year renewable terms. Four are appointed by the Blount County Commission, two each by the cities of Maryville and Alcoa, and one by the board of trustees for Maryville College.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.