The Maryville City Schools Foundation is accepting public nominations for its 17th annual Starlight awards through Friday, Nov. 8.

The goal is to recognize the accomplishments of Maryville High School graduates, the dedication of those who serve the schools and the partnerships of those who support education in the community.

The selection process begins with nominations from the community and Maryville High School alumni, which a selection committee of foundation board members and community leaders review.

“We rely heavily on input from the public during this process,” said Barbara Jenkins, MCSF executive director said. “We want the selection committee to review the broadest possible range of qualified nominees in each category.”

“The Starlight Gala, presented by the Maryville City Schools Foundation, is a premier event to recognize alumni and supporters of Maryville City Schools,” said Director Mike Winstead. “We hope our community members will take time to nominate worthy recipients for the categories of Distinguished Alumni, Outstanding Young Alumni, Distinguished Service and Foundation Partnership.”

Nominations should follow these guidelines:

• Distinguished Alumni Award is granted to MHS graduates who have made outstanding or distinguished contributions to their professions or chosen fields of endeavor, or for distinguished human service to their community, state or nation.

• Outstanding Young Alumni is granted to MHS graduates age 35 or younger when nominated for significant accomplishments in their professions or chosen fields of endeavor or for distinguished human service to their community state or nation.

• Distinguished Service is granted to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding service and dedication to education in the city of Maryville.

• Foundation Partnership is granted to a business or family who exemplifies dedication to education through financially supporting Maryville City Schools and/or the Maryville City Schools Foundation.

MCSF staff, MCSF board of directors and current MCS school board members are not eligible for Starlight Award recognition. All nominations will remain under consideration for two years.

Nomination forms are available online at or through the MCSF office located at 402 Melrose St., Maryville.

Nomination forms must be emailed or postmarked by Nov. 8 to be considered. All nominations should be directed to Jenkins via email at or mailed to Maryville City Schools Foundation, 402 Melrose St., Maryville, TN 37803.

The Starlight Award recipients will be honored at the Starlight Gala event Feb. 29, 2020, at the Hilton Knoxville Airport. The Starlight Gala chair is MCSF board member Leah Flynn, and co-chairs are board members Dawn Chodak and Diana Lennox.

For more information about the Starlight Awards, the nomination process, sponsorship or event tickets, contact Jenkins at 865-982-7121 ext. 11501.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.